COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (KRDO) – Starting Monday, May 16, Colorado Springs and state law enforcement are focusing heavily on seat belts as the summer months approach. The application period will be until Sunday, June 5th. This is a campaign called “Click it or ticket”.
According to Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT)road fatalities have increased significantly due to the high volume of passengers in Colorado, many fatalities are due to those who are not buckled up.
According to CDOT, 232 of passenger vehicle fatalities were not wearing seat belts last year. In nearly two decades, road deaths in Colorado have been the highest. During the summer months, more than 150 traffic fatalities are reported on Colorado roads.
“We hear a lot of excuses for why people don’t wear seat belts, but I have one reason to buckle up that beats them all,” said Col. Matthew C. Packard, patrol chief of the state of Colorado. “Seat belts have been proven to save lives. There are many factors beyond your control when driving, but this is not one. Choose to buckle up every time.”
Last year, El Paso County estimated that 86 percent of passengers wore a seatbelt, which is within the state average. Although Colorado’s seat belt average is over 80%, it’s still below the national average of 90%, according to the recent Colorado Statewide Seat Belt Investigation.
“Last year was a deadly and tragic year on the roads of Colorado. As a state, we need to do better,” said CDOT Transportation Safety Office Director Darrell Lingk. apps are designed to keep drivers and passengers safe, but ultimately it’s up to you to protect yourself – and we really hope you do.”
In 2021, CDOT reports that 2,994 failed drivers were fined throughout Colorado during enforcement periods. Passengers who are not buckled up can be fined at least $65. A fine of $82 will be imposed on parents or caregivers if children are improperly restrained.
Seat Belt Laws in Colorado, According to CDOT
- Adults: Colorado has a secondary enforcement law for adult drivers and front seat passengers. Drivers can be fined for breaking the seat belt law if they are stopped for another traffic violation.
- Teenagers: Colorado’s Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) law requires all drivers under the age of 18 and their passengers, regardless of age, to wear seat belts. This is a primary application, which means teenagers can be stopped simply for not wearing a seatbelt or having passengers without a seatbelt.
- Children: Colorado’s child passenger safety law is primary enforcement, which means the driver can be arrested and ticketed if an officer sees a child under 16 unrestrained or improperly restrained in the vehicle.